The Anambra State Commissioner for Youth Entrepreneurship and Sports Development, Dr Barr Mrs Uju Nwogu, has assured the youths of Ndi Anambra of her continued commitment in representing their interest to the state government.

Dr Nwogu made this promise recently at the conference hall of the ministry while presenting cash awards to the winners of the just concluded 2nd edition of the Gov. Willie Obiano Unity Cup.

Addressing the youths from different local government areas, the Commissioner, noted that the 3rd edition of the tournament will start soonest, urging the teams to register in the next edition. She expressed her joy to the participants, both the winners and those that did no win for the good sportsmanship they exhibited during and after the tournament.

In a vote of thanks on behalf of all the teams, Ebuka Aghaobi from Onitsha North LGA, extols Gov. Willie Obiano administration, for youth friendly disposition and pledged their undiluted support to the Gov. Willie Obiano second term agenda.

He appreciated the Hon. Commissioner, who he said has turned sporting lives of Ndi Anambra youths around since her assumption of office, promising their total loyalty and support to her youth oriented programmes, both in youth development, entrepreneurship and sports development.

It will be recalled that in the final matches played on Friday 5th May, Nnewi North, Onitsha North, Ihiala and Anaocha LGAs, took 1st, 2nd, 3rd and 4th positions respectively, in the male category, while in the female category, Onitsha North, Nnewi South, Ekwusigo and Awka South LGAs, clinched 1st, 2nd, 3rd and 4th positions respectively. Ubeagu Chinedu from Nnewi North, was adjourned the best goalkeeper of the tournament, while Mawo Echezona from Onitsha North, Ehirim Uche from Onitsha North and Idemili South LGA, bagged highest goal scorer, most valuable player and most behaved team respectively. In the female football event, Nwankwo Chetachi from Nnewi South, Sandra Samuel from Nnewi South, Oby Osaka from Onitsha North and Awka South LGA, emerged highest goal scorer, best goalkeeper, most valuable player and best behaved team respectively.